Sunday Brunch

17 Mar

This morning I invited some friends I haven’t been able to spend much time with lately over for brunch. Somehow a brunch for five became ten, but thats how it goes.

I cooked some quiche. I’ve never tried my hand at it, so I was up at 7am this morning trying to figure it out. I used premade crusts, I love my friends but not enough to make pie crusts at first thing on Sunday morning. The menu consisted of spinach quiche, quiche lorraine, and fresh fruit. I had originally planned on having pine nuts in the spinach quiche, but the first thing I did this morning was toast the pine nuts…I probably should have some coffee first. I spaced out while I was cooking the bacon and forgot about the pine nuts. They were just little black carbon pieces by the time that I remembered. Oops.

I caramelized the onions in the quiche lorraine. They both actually came out really well. I thought it was a great first attempt. They probably could have been a bit firmer. The cantaloupe wasn’t as ripe as I’d have liked, I know better that to buy fruit from the HEB.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I picked up some gorgeous gerbra daisies yesterday for cheap. I love spring.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I made these place cards inspired by my friend Sarah Neuburger’s art. I think they are adorable. I just drew some random designs on some used manila file folders and cut them out then I attached the names with thick adhesive dots, so they are raised from the card

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Melisa made some amazingly delicious bread pudding.

Photobucket

We all went through 6 bottles of champagne making mimosas. Which I’m sure they needed, as most of them showed up pretty hung-over from SXSW-ing it up last night. I need to entertain more. It truly makes me happy.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

2 Responses to “Sunday Brunch”

  1. Rachel March 29, 2008 at 6:50 am #

    Dude, NOTHING burns faster than pine nuts. I can’t tell you how many Logan’s set on fire.

    I’m really loving your blog – great pictures! I feel like a bit of an underachiever.

    BTW, your lemon cupcakes were seriously delicious – we stole one from Mr. Man.

  2. jennifer andrews April 5, 2008 at 11:13 pm #

    I feel better about the pine nuts now, Thanks.

    You guys have the greatest blog, I’m flattered you enjoy mine.

Leave a Reply

