No Zombies

20 Mar

Cross-stitching is such an underrated craft. I am an avid cross-stitcher. I’ve been doing it on and off for four years or so. I’ve gotten to the point now that I can free hand my own designs, which is very helpful because like most younger crafters I like my projects laced with irony. Because they are so portable, I often like to take my projects up to the coffee shop and work.
Because I often make my own designs or at least make a lot of changes to pre-made designs I always keep tons of embroidery floss on hand. I tend to pick up a few new colors every time I am at the craft or fabric store. I almost solely use DMC (not to be confused with the classic punk band MDC) because the craft stores don’t carry the same color selection in Anchor. After lots of trial and error, I’ve come up with a great system for organizing the plethora of floss I’ve accumulated. I use the flat plastic bobbins and organize them in tackle boxes. They are not as pretty as the art supply boxes you can buy but far cheaper, in fact I inherited most of mine from my grandfather. I keep a few of the boxes with the thread organized by color and a few boxes organized by floss number. So I can easily find whatever color I need very quickly. It is also useful when working out color schemes for new designs.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I just got back one of my pieces from framing. I made it as a birthday present for my ex, someone who first inspired my zombie obsession with this lovely bit of advise…”If your girlfriend turns into a zombie, you have to kill her…with a chainsaw.” Unfortunately, the framing took so long I had to send his gifts off without it. And now that I have it in my possession…I don’t know if I want to let it go. I really love the gaudy gold frame with it. Oh…there is never enough irony. More, please.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’ve done tons of variations of the “No Zombies Allowed” cross-stitch. The sampler theme is probably my favorite so far. It always reminds me of the classic “grandma” cross-stitch

Oh, here is a skull that I free handed to freshen up a rose border

Photobucket

4 Responses to “No Zombies”

  1. Rachel April 8, 2008 at 5:57 am #

    Best cross-stitch ever! I HAVE to get one of these!

    This is better than the zombie preparedness kit I keep in the spare bedroom or the “Zombie Bait” onesie we bought for the baby!

    This is really great!

    Rachel (once of Adriana’s, now in Korea)

  2. Tony November 17, 2008 at 4:10 pm #

    Love the No Zombies allowed theme, I own http://nozombies.com, and I’d love to use an image of one of your cross-stitches on my site!

  3. home cellulite treatment May 26, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

    Aw, this was an incredibly good post. Spending some time and actual effort
    to create a great article… but what can I say… I put things off a whole lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Art of Darkness » Blog Archive » Lady Chatterly’s Link Dump - November 13, 2009

    […] Playing with Fire – This blogger does all kinds of offbeat embroidery. I especially like this and […]

Leave a Reply

