Cupcakes

21 Mar

I figured the world needed yet another post about cupcakes. But, I don’t care. I love cup cakes. Yummy, yummy cupcakes. Just the perfect self contained little sweeties. I often go in and out of cupcake obsession. Sometimes when I’m having a particularly shitty day I’ll treat myself to the terrible combination of cupcakes and champagne…mmm

Photobucket

No self-pity this time. I just wanted to make a special treat for a special person. I was wandering the baking aisles of the crafting store and came across…Edible Glitter! This maybe old news to everyone else, but I had never seen such things. I immediately snatched some up in a pretty blushing pink and grabbed some candy coloring gel in a complimentary tone and made a beeline to the grocery store. Cupcakes!

I decided on doing a vanilla cake and an almond icing. Pink almond icing?…why not?

Photobucket

The glitter was easy to work with. After I finished frosting the cupcakes, I let them sit for a bit so the icing could set up some. After they were past the gooey stage, I just brushed the glitter on with a dry, soft fan brush.

Photobucket

I found that I could work the glitter on in layers to create different tones and effects.

I just adore the aluminum style cupcake papers, something about them just seems so old-timey to me. Plus, they come in the “jumbo” size and I like my cupcakes oversized.

I can’t wait to deliver these! I was really pleased with the iridescent effect, although I was hoping for something more “glittery.”

Photobucket

Photobucket

Three Cheers for Cupcakes!

2 Responses to “Cupcakes”

  1. bad home cook March 29, 2008 at 3:20 am #

    Mmmm. Cupcakes……

    NICE shots, too!

    What’s the camera?

  2. jennifer andrews April 5, 2008 at 4:52 am #

    Thanks, The camera is actually just a Kodak Easyshare. I am sometimes amazed by crappy free little camera.

Leave a Reply

