Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcake Restlessness

18 Apr

Yesterday I made chocolate peanut butter cupcakes. I tried out a few different things with them, again I was trying to get a peanut butter filled center.
I made a chocolate fudge cake batter to start. Then, for about half of them, I stuffed peanut butter chips in the center of the cups of batter. But instead of melting, they jut sank to the bottom and hardened once they were cooled.

Photobucket

Still yummy, but not what I was looking for. For the other half, I finally broke down and stuffed them the way everyone keeps telling me to. I’m not sure why I’m so resistant to cutting the hole in the center, but I just want to find another method. But as I said, I caved.  I just cut a hole in the top after they were baked. I just made a cone shaped cut with a knife and removed the extra and slathered a tablespoon or so of peanut butter in the hole

Photobucket

I made a peanut butter-chocolate icing by just mixing together 2/3 chocolate icing and 1/3 smooth peanut butter and then topped it all with chopped peanuts

Photobucket

Photobucket

I took some up to a friend at the coffee shop, which were shared liberally. They seemed to be a big hit. Although I forgot to mark which batch was which, so it was a surprise as to if you would get a big gooey bite of nuttiness inside. It’s so much fun bring people cupcakes. Especially delivered in a pretty white box tied up with baker’s twine.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

