D.I.Y. Cookie Cutters

19 Apr

I made my first cookie cutters today. I decided last week that I wanted to make some sugar skull shaped cookies to decorate with fondant, so I needed to make some custom cookie cutters. I picked up some medium weight aluminum sheet metal and cut it into strips a little over 1 inch wide using a pair of tin snips. I decided to go with the heavier gauge metal which was harder to work with, but they wouldn’t easily lose their shape with all the banging around in the kitchen.

Photobucket

I used a pair of pliers to bend the sheets into shape, I used my paper sketch as a guide. Then I just filed down the sharp metal pokies with a metal rasp. I don’t really want my cookie cutters to bite back.

Photobucket

I found some food safe metal adhesive and applied it to the overlap and secured them with a C-clamp

Photobucket

Then I waited 4 hours……

Photobucket

Next time I’m soldering them together. I’m going to get a soldering iron next week!
I ended up making a sacred heart one as well.

Photobucket

I’m waiting for its four hours to pass right now, as I only seem to own one set of c-clamps…

Photobucket

I can’t wait to try them out!
They are a not perfect, but I’m not too worries about it this time.
Tomorrow I’m going to experiment with rolled fondant on my pretty new sugar cookies. Fondant scares me a bit, but do not fear…I will win.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Furl | Newsvine

2 Responses to “D.I.Y. Cookie Cutters”

  1. Nancy Roskam April 9, 2009 at 6:01 pm #

    I enjoyed your web page and instructions about making cookie cutters with children. What adhesive did you use to hold the cutter together that is safe when it comes in contact with dough?
    Thanks
    Nancy

  2. Brendy Vaughn October 11, 2009 at 3:14 pm #

    I can’t wait to try this! I’ve often times been frustrated by not being able to find the cutter I want – this is perfect.

Leave a Reply

