Carving Stamps

30 Apr

I’ve made a few stamps in the past week.

I actually went to the craft store to make some linocuts. But, alas, no linoleum blocks. I did see some large rubber blocks, so I snatched those up. I also grabbed some textile ink with the intention of stamping some napkins.

Unfortunately, the rubber blocks don’t work like linoleum. On the plus side, it is so easy to cut the rubber that I didn’t end up with a bunch on half-circle stab marks on my finger tips from the carving tools. I remember having constantly sore and bleeding fingertips back when I was taking printmaking classes. But because the rubber is so easy to cut it makes it very difficult to carve any type of small detail work.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Furl | Newsvine

Leave a Reply

