Sugar Skull Cookies

30 Apr

I finally used the new cookie cutters that I made.
I made some lofthouse style cookies with rolled fondant.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The decorating was amazingly fun
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I also made some cookies with the sacred heart cutter.
They had a little issue with the flames getting knocked off after they were baked.
But the ones that made it through were pretty.

Photobucket

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Furl | Newsvine

10 Responses to “Sugar Skull Cookies”

  1. madcapCupcake May 1, 2008 at 2:56 am #

    Oh my gosh – these cookies are the best looking things I’ve seen in ages. Well done 🙂

  2. Jen May 14, 2008 at 5:33 am #

    Those are some seriously impressive cookies.

  3. May September 18, 2008 at 2:41 pm #

    Wow those cookies look amazing! Do you mind sending me the recipe? (^_^)

    Thaanks

    xoxo

  4. Cynthia October 6, 2008 at 7:45 am #

    Very cool…. I think the kids will really like these!

  5. Asia May 14, 2009 at 3:23 am #

    WOW. Those sugar skull cookies are SO incredible! I am just blown away! I even had to send the link to my best friend (a wonderful baker herself) and she was equally impressed! Thank you so much for sharing!

    However, there seems to be several “Lofthouse” style cookie recipes out there and I’m wondering which one you use?

    Here is the recipe that sounds the best, but I’m just not sure. Is it anything like your recipe?

    Swedish Sour Cream Cookies

    Makes 3 dozen big cookies

    1 cup butter
    2 cups sugar
    3 eggs
    1-1/2 cups sour cream
    1 teaspoon vanilla
    1 teaspoon baking soda
    1 teaspoon baking powder
    5 to 6 cups all-purpose flour (enough for desired consistency for rolling)

    Cream together the butter and sugar. Beat in the eggs, sour cream and vanilla.Mix in baking soda, baking powder and enough flour to create a consistency for rolling. Cover and refrigerate overnight.Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Roll out dough to a 1/4-to 3/8-inch thickness using a generous amount of flour. Cut out shapes and bake on an ungreased cookie sheet for 8 minutes. Cook on a wire rack. Frost and decorate as desired.

    Any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!
    ~Asia

    • jennifer andrews June 11, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

      The recipe looks pretty much the same as the one I use. honestly, I do think they are a little bland so I have been trying out more vanilla flavor and even lemon. It helps a lot. I just haven’t been able to beat the decoration surface they provide.

  6. Melissa September 12, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    These are amazing! exactly what i was looking for! I am going to get busy with some aluminium sheeting tomorrow! Thanks for the inspiring idea 🙂

  7. CAMINE September 21, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    Love the cookies and the decor. How did you do the pink areas of the eyes? And how did you make your own cookie cutter??
    Thanks—and good job!

    • jennifer andrews September 21, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

      The pink for the eyes and nose are just fondant that I dyed pink with candy coloring. I detailed how I made the cookie cutters in the previous post. It is super easy but lately I have seen some people just buying round pre-made cookie cutters (cookie-cutter cookie cutters?) and bending them to the desired shape with pliers.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dia De Los Muertos Necklace « Kimbercrafts - November 1, 2011

    […] These cookies are phenomenal! Boy do I wish I had those icing […]

Leave a Reply

