Free Comic Book Day

7 May

I was visiting my friend Doug in Los Angeles this past week. I woke up on Saturday to realize it was Free Comic Book Day. Doug was kind enough to drive me to lots of the Comic Stores in town he knows, and a few others he had heard of. We hit up Meltdown, Secret Headquarters and HideHo Comics.

We have a really awesome comic book store here in Austin with a really nice indie selection, but I was blown away by the comic stores we went to . Especially Meltdown, which was gigantic and had an amazing selection of everything. I was especially impressed with their local mini comics and the small press stuff. I haven’t been in a comic shop that large since Chicago Comics.

About forty blocks up on Sunset we went to The Secret Headquarters. This place is tiny but beautiful…all dark wood and nice lighting, more like an old library than a comic shop. I was amazed at the amount of books they were artfully and comfortably able to cram into their small little space. Plus, did I mention that it was mostly European and Small Press Titles? I was really impressed, really.

I found the parking signs at Hideho amusing.

Photobucket

Instead of just being happy with my free comics. I went out of my mind buying tons of comics that I could not afford. I suppose that is part of the point.

“So, Jennifer, what did you do in L.A.?” “Oh, I bought comic books for a week…and ate.”

Here is a small glimpse at what I got…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I hope you got your free comic books this year.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

One Response to “Free Comic Book Day”

  1. Chris June 24, 2008 at 2:06 am #

    Not bad – you’ll have to see my MoCCA haul sometime.

Leave a Reply

