Zombie Jesus Day

15 Apr

To celebrate the day Jesus came back from the dead, as zombies do, I had a Zombie Jesus Day barbeque on Sunday. I roasted a cuban style pork shoulder and cooked a ton of food. Unfortunately my landlord hasn’t had our lawn taken care of in months, so the grass was way to long for the planned bocce ball. Sad.

I love themed pastries so I made some stigmata cookies. I used a hand shaped cookie cutter on some lofthouse dough and then cut a hole in the center before baking. I played around with the size if the hole in a test batch to find the right size. Topped them with a prepackaged rolled fondant and then squeezed in some buttercream icing colored with red candy coloring.
Stigmata Cookies

Stigmata Cookie

I baked my first layered cake. It actually made me cry. I made a basic lemon cake with a filling made of lemon pudding and raspberry preserves. The cake cracked terribly twice. After the second one cracked I stuck the pieces back together as best I could and then just iced over it. It wasn’t the prettiest thing I’ve ever made but I thought it was still quite delicious. I racked my brain for days trying to come up with a cleaver idea for cup cakes and as the tears fell on my cake it finally came to me…crown of thorns. Oh, how I wish I would have thought of it just three hours earlier. So I edged the cake with a squeeze icing like a crown of thorns…next time cupcakes. It would have been better.
 

Zombie Jesus Day Cake

You should checkout Boots In The Oven for their awesome (and quite flattering) post on my Easter events, complete with way better pictures. They keep my favorite food and travel blog,.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Furl | Newsvine

3 Responses to “Zombie Jesus Day”

  1. rachel @ boots in the oven April 17, 2009 at 8:41 am #

    Thanks so much for the invite, the delicious food, and the compliments! Glad you liked our post. Thanks so much for inviting us to zombie easter – seriously, I’m totally up for tennis, too!

  2. Hunter April 23, 2009 at 7:23 am #

    Dammnnnn! I’m impressed, and twice as upset that I missed the zombie jesus day festivities. The cookies look great, you’re amazing.

  3. sharkcrow October 26, 2009 at 10:46 pm #

    These are brilliant! I wonder if I’d freak my mum out if I presented her with some of these stigmata cookies as a ‘welcome home’ thing.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

