Beer Cozy

15 Aug

I have been cranking out these beer cozies. The design was super simple to make. I just crocheted in the round until it reached the desired size,  then crocheted out a tube from there. When the idea hit me, it was the middle of the night and the only wool yarn I had in the house was a Merino/Cashmere blend. So as silly as it is, the first few are cashmere beer cozies. Hilarious.

So I finished  a few of the luxe ones up and headed to Miss Maddie’s house. A case of Lonestar cans awaited me. We needed to test out the effectiveness of the wool to truly keep our beer cold. And what better way then an all night summer drinking session on a hot Texas porch? They were perfect…ice cold till the end. I am okay with Lonestar. It’s decent enough for a super cheap beer, but I think it completely unpalatable once it has warmed up at all.

Maddie was totally in love with the color of the ones I brought over and requested a hummingbird on hers

HummingbirdCoozie

I have been making them non-stop ever since I finished hanging my current show. I am hoping to have quite a few for sale at the opening on the 22nd.

I like this “I love Math” one a ton!

ILuvMathCoozie3

ILuvMathCoozie2

The Flightpath show has been a success for me so far. I’ve sold a few pieces. I did have one piece stolen out of its frame. I am pretty upset about it.  It was the pink and blue skull handkerchief from my last post. I had it framed without glass and mounted with spray mount and dress pins on a white fabric so that the details of the embroidery and the loveliness of the hankie edges are on display. Someone just stole it right off of the frame. It makes me a bit nervous because I almost never use glass for the framing of my needlework pieces, as I don’t want all my stitching effort squished all flat. The Flightpath was dismayed, in 17 years of art shows they have never had a piece damaged or stolen. Several people have tried to cheer me up by saying that I should be flattered. I appreciate their efforts, but I am not flattered. I would be less upset if someone stole $150 out of my wallet. Boo.

I need to start working on pieces for my next show at the end of October with Don Jolly and friends. I don’t have all the details quite yet. There will be info up soon at The Incredible Art Show.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Furl | Newsvine

4 Responses to “Beer Cozy”

  1. Andrew MacPherson August 15, 2009 at 4:25 am #

    Oh whoa. This is some cool stuff. How did I miss seeing your blog before?

  2. Rachel @ boots in the oven August 18, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    Embroidered cashmere beer cozies? I knew I liked you… that rules.

    • jennifer andrews August 19, 2009 at 1:33 am #

      Rachel, I still have a few if you want one. I take requests. I am almost finished with that scarf for you, although I am not so sure how enticing that sounds here in the August Texas heat.

  3. czyszczenie bik krakow May 21, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

    I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also visit this blog on regular basis to obtain updated from most recent news.

Leave a Reply

