Twin Peaks Embroidery II – Audrey Horne and Leland Palmer Portraits

27 Oct

As promised, here are two more of the Twin Peaks portraits I did for my show.

I am very pleased with the amount of detail I was able to get into these. They are currently framed in oval 8x10s.  I thought I would break down how I made the pieces because that is what people seemed most interested in while talking to me at my show…well that and how long thing took and you probably don’t want me to answer that one. A long time.

Audrey Portrait

Doing Everyone’s hair was probably my favorite part. I just use a simple stem stitch for all of it but I alternated with different colors and amounts of embroidery floss to get the textures.

Audrey Hair Detail

To get the texture on the sleeves of her sweater I modified colonial knots by holding them ultra loose before pulling through the knot, then packed hundreds and hundreds of them close together.

Audrey Sleeve Detail

For the organic pattern on the front of her sweater I modified a lazy daisy stitch and connected them with stem stitches. I wish I had drawn them out first. I tend to do all my detail work freehand and it was a bit stressful with this particular part.

Audrey Shirt Detail

Leland ended up being one of my favorites. I decided on White Haired Leland because I feel it is most representative of the character on the show.

Leland Portrait

Leland Hair Detail 2

So, I use a lot of modified stitches in these portraits, it isn’t so much laziness as I need to achieve a certain texture and am just let down by the classic stitches that are established.

For Leland’s shirt I used a basic long and short pattern and placed whipped chain stitch in as the stripes. I modified a long and short pattern for the jacket  and used a satin stitch for the tie.

Leland Shirt Detail

Leland Tie Detail

Things got a little dirty in the transportation for the show. Next time everything will get wrapped in plastic for that part, but I was so pressed for time I just didn’t get it done. But since they were a little mussed already I was encouraging those who mentioned wanting to touch to go ahead. A lot of people want to touch. Hey I understand, I am a tactile person and am always sad when I can’t touch things with interesting looking textures. Anyway I need to rewash and stretch them all before they go up at the Flightpath. I should probably go and do that now.

8 Responses to “Twin Peaks Embroidery II – Audrey Horne and Leland Palmer Portraits”

  1. Emilee October 27, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    Wow, those are so cool! I’m especially impressed with the hair.

  2. sharkcrow October 27, 2009 at 9:28 pm #

    These are fantastic! Your work is motivating me to learn how to embroider!

  3. jennifer andrews October 29, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    Thank you guys so much. The hair was the most fun by far.

  4. cake. April 9, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    “Next time everything will get WRAPPED IN PLASTIC for that part…”

    hahahaha.

  5. Alice April 13, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    Wow wow wow! Just awesome!! I run to see the other wonderful things you made!

  6. andi September 26, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    RAD. amazing. love it.

    • Anonymous February 14, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

      These are gorgeous. Great job.

  7. Tim April 14, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Okay, I just stumbled upon this link after looking for images of white-hair Leland Palmer… I’m floored–your work is just incredible!

Leave a Reply

