Twin Peaks Embroidery V – Killer BOB, The Giant and The Log Lady

10 Nov

This is the last post of Twin Peaks Embroidery from my current show.

These are all fairly large, Bob and the Giant are 2×3 and the Log Lady is slightly larger.

I used all 6 strands of floss included in the standard Embroidery floss pack, so the stitching is pretty thick. They are all done in stem and chain stitches.  After I was finished embroidering on the cotton I stretched them over canvases and used spray adhesive to secure them.

Killer BOB Portrait

This is ten solid hours of knot work on Bob’s beard. I struggled a long time with how to do the stubble, as I knew the knots would take me forever, eventually I could not come up with any other viable options and gave in to the knots. Oh, colonial knots, thousands of colonial knots.

Killer BOB Stubble Detail

I kind of hated the one for the Giant, until I got it on the canvas. Now it’s my favorite of the large pieces.

The Giant Portrait

Log Lady Portrait

Log Lady Glasses Detail

Log Lady Log Detail

Now to go work on tiny, tiny patches (one inch) of  Twin Peaks character…. is this my new fate… bleeding fingers for Twin Peaks?

4 Responses to “Twin Peaks Embroidery V – Killer BOB, The Giant and The Log Lady”

  1. Mar November 23, 2009 at 5:53 am #

    OMG!
    I love your TP art!
    You should make these on cardigans or shirts or even totes so we could wear them everywhere!
    But I guess its too much time consuming and there would be no money to pay for that. Anyway this made my day!!!

  2. Jennie from Mrs Beckinsale January 6, 2010 at 1:37 am #

    Bravo.

    My hubby found your blog via b3ta.com.

  3. Michelle February 10, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Your portraits are fantastic! Found your blog looking for pictures of log lady. But… Where’s Laura?? Kinda bummed to see your last post was 3 months ago! If you’ve moved elsewhere I’d love to know and keep up on your crafty shenanigans!
    Michelle

  4. sherri/the claw April 8, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    and you are amazing. I LOVE your twin peaks stuff, so great!

Leave a Reply

