Torture Applique

11 Jul

I had been working on my first stumpwork pieces and was looking at tons of medieval tapestries, needlepoint and embroidery to prepare. When the stumpwork was taking WAY longer than I had anticipated I decided to fill out my show with some applique inspired by the massive amount of torture images I had been viewing on a daily basis. Oh, those dudes love a martyrdom.

Water Torture Full 1

Cat's Claw Full 1

Saw Full 1

Cat's Claw Detail 2

Water Torture Detail 1

Saw Detail 1

These were massive amounts of fun and I cannot wait to finish up the eight or so projects I have lined up at the moment so I can make some more!

5 Responses to “Torture Applique”

  1. Drop Stitches Not Bombs July 11, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    These are amazing – I love how nonchalant all your figures look! I find medieval embroidery very inspirational too – I can’t wait to see your stumpwork!

    • jennifer andrews July 24, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

      Thank you so much! I have the stumpwork coming soon. Medieval needleworks are some of the most beautiful and intricate pieces I have ever seen. Especially the stumpwork. It sometimes disheartens me to compare my work to the level of craftsmanship they achieved and I have to remind my self that most of those women had completed their first samplers by the age of 3.

  2. Michelle July 30, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    I love the brocades and paisleys. Gives them an Illuminated look. Fabulous work!

  3. schinders September 7, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    these are so so so great! i’m blown away!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Art of Darkness » Blog Archive » Xena, Warrior Link Dump - March 25, 2011

    […] Torture Applique – Series of appliqued panels depicting various Medieval torture methods. […]

Leave a Reply

