Art Show: Embroidered Self-Portraits

19 Oct

I have been working on a series of self-portraits in embroidery and applique for my upcoming show.

Here is a sneak peak of one of those pieces.  My self portrait as two marabou storks. It is a simple outline in backstitch. I originally started it because, as always, I decided to experiment with new techniques for the series at the last minute and found myself a bit behind. I needed some work I could complete within a reasonable amount of time to show along with my more complex portraits. However, I really love it.

Self-portrait as two Marabou Storks

Self-portrait as two Marabou Storks Detail

So if you will be in the Austin area on October 23rd you should swing by the show. Also presenting the art of the amazing Don Jolly, Max McDermott, and Justin Prince.  Live music by The Fractals, Ben Pickett, Quin Galavis, Radiola and SPENCE! There will be tons of food and wine provided but you are welcome to BYOB. 3701 Werner, the third street East of IH-35 on 38th 1/2 street. Doors at 4pm.

More info at Incredible Art Show 6

Leave a Reply

